Guide To CMMC

What To Know About CMMC

Contact us to learn everything you need to know about preparing for the Cybersecurity Maturity Model Certification (CMMC), which is mandatory for DoD contractors, including


  1. CMMC Background 

  2. What is CMMC? 

  3. Why is CMMC important? 

  4. CMMC Framework and Requirements 

  5. Software alone is not the solution 

  6. Obtaining CMMC Assessment for Certification 

  7. What are the benefits of Assessment and Certification? 

  8. Possible impacts of CMMC 

  9. CMMC Assessment Preparation 

  10. Final Thoughts 



The Department of Defense (DoD) identified that we, as a country, were losing an average of $600 billion annually in our defense intellectual property (IP) to non-friendly countries due to hacking the DoD Industrial Base (DIB) suppliers. The DIB is comprised of over 350,000 very small to very large organizations. The very large defense contractors are very few and comprise less than 1/100 of a percent (about 35) of the DIB and these should have very strong information security. The remaining 349,965 DIB members are ideal targets of the hackers. 


NIST SP 800-53 and NIST SP 800-171 were developed to try and stop this drain of our IP. It did not work because it was determined to be a self-compliant method. Over 75% of companies who claimed self-compliance actually failed. 


DoD then made a huge commitment to develop a certification scheme called Cybersecurity Maturity Model Certification (CMMC). 

  • LinkedIn
  • Facebook

© 2021 by ISOP Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.