top of page

ISO 45001:2018

ISO 45000-1 audit

The Value of ISO 45001:2018

ISO 45001:2018 Occupational Health and Safety (OHSMS)

Is an internationally recognized standards for Occupational Health and Safety Management.


On March 12, 2018 the ISO 45001:2018 Occupational Health and Safety Management standard was published which over the next three years will replace OHSAS 18001. The ISO 45001 standard has been written to the same framework as the ISO 9001:2015 and 14001:2015 Management System Standards.


All standards provide a framework that any organization can use to identify and effectively control its occupational health and safety risks.


Achieving compliance with ISO 45001 will typically involve identifying the most significant health and safety hazards in the business and taking appropriate action to manage these. All health and safety legislation applicable to a business and its activities must also be identified, documented and complied with. 


Certification in ISO 45001 demonstrates to all stakeholders of an organization that your health and safety management system has been independently assessed and conforms to international standards for health and safety practice in the workplace. 


How will ISO 45001 help my Organization?


ISO 45001 ensures your organization has a management system in place to reduce health and safety risks in the workplace, protecting workers from potential harm and increasing profitability at the same time. ISO 45001 offers several benefits to organizations aiming to enhance their occupational health and safety practices: 

  1. Risk Reduction: ISO 45001 ensures that your organization establishes a systematic approach to identifying, assessing, and mitigating health and safety risks in the workplace. By addressing these risks proactively, you can prevent accidents, injuries, and illnesses among your employees. 

  2. Cost Savings: Implementing ISO 45001 can reduce the overall costs associated with workplace incidents. By preventing accidents and injuries, organizations can avoid expenses related to medical treatment, compensation claims, and regulatory fines. 

  3. Operational Continuity: ISO 45001 helps minimize downtime and disruptions caused by workplace accidents or health issues. By maintaining a safe and healthy work environment, organizations can sustain their operations more effectively and ensure continuity in business activities. 

  4. Insurance Premium Reduction: Organizations with ISO 45001 certification may qualify for lower insurance premiums due to their demonstrated commitment to workplace safety and risk management. Insurers often view ISO certification as a positive indicator of risk management practices. 

  5. Employee Well-being and Productivity: A safe and healthy work environment fosters employee well-being, morale, and productivity. ISO 45001 encourages organizations to prioritize the health and safety of their workforce, leading to reduced absenteeism, higher employee satisfaction, and increased productivity. 

  6. Compliance and Legal Requirements: ISO 45001 helps organizations stay compliant with relevant health and safety regulations and legal requirements. Organizations can mitigate legal risks and avoid penalties by identifying applicable laws and regulations and ensuring compliance. 

  7. International Recognition: Achieving ISO 45001 certification demonstrates your organization's commitment to this international standard for occupational health and safety. It enhances your reputation and credibility among stakeholders, customers, suppliers, and partners, potentially leading to new business opportunities. 

Overall, ISO 45001 provides a structured framework for organizations to manage occupational health and safety effectively, leading to improved organizational performance, risk reduction, and a safer work environment for employees. 

Click here to see the official ISO standard page from

Related Services

bottom of page